WHITSTABLE, KENT
51° 21.50’ N 01° 01.43’ E
Overview

The cost of a seat on the boat is £40 and it is about a hours trip to go and have a look at the forts and the wind farms, the boat can take 7 people not including the skipper, if you would like to hire the boat and skipper for the hour it is £250 and if you would like to hire it for 2 hours to look for seals in the estuary between Whitstable, Faversham and Sheppey then that is £400.

This is our 7.8m Ribeye, it is capable of 40 knots in comfort and takes about 14 minutes to get the forts on a calm day. It has a powerful 250hp Yamaha engine which is quiet for such a large engine. The Maunsell forts were built in world war 2 and have had an interesting history, once protecting the Thames Estuary from German war planes and then becoming the home for a pirate radio station. You can learn all about them on our trip.

A short trip to the East is the Wind turbines on the Kentish Flats Wind Farms, these are massive when you get up close, and it is interesting seeing the forts that were cutting edge in their time to the modern wind turbines 6.2 miles from Whitstable. The trips can be customised around you and take between 1 & 3 hours, a highlight after seeing the forts and wind farms is to have a leisurely trip up the Swale Estuary to try and spot the seals basking on the banks between Faversham and the Isle of Sheppey.

Recently, Scott Amling a professional photographer from Los Angeles, USA used the boat to get some amazing shots of the forts on a moody day, if you would like to hire the boat to get some amazing photos for yourself please get in touch. 


What happens if the trip is cancelled by Oyster Coast Watersports ?


If we cancel due to weather conditions or technical reasons we will refund the cost of the trip or deposit whichever has been paid. You can exercise the option to come on another day if you want.


What happens if I cancel the trip ?


You can change the date up to 2 weeks before the trip. This enables us some time to sell the seat again.Within two weeks before the trip date you have the option to sell or give your place to a friend or family member, but the money is non-refundable. If you do not turn up on the day we cannot make a refund.


Are children half price ?


Sorry no, we are a small boat and a child still takes up a seat.


Is there an age restriction on children ?


We are flexible on the age of children but they have to be a minimum of 1.2 metres tall. We have a measure on the Harbour side. Children cannot be held on laps, there are no seat belts so the children have to be strong enough to be able to hold on tight, If you turn up with a young child and the skipper deems they are not strong enough for the conditions they will be turned away with no refund. In our estimation usually children need to be around 8 years old, but as we all know there are a variety of strengths and sizes in young Children.


What if I am pregnant or have back problems or have medical issues should I book ?


Please do not come on the boat if you have a back complaint, are pregnant or have any other medical condition that may be aggravated by the boat trip. Due to sea conditions you could be subjected to sudden direction changes and movements. The weather conditions do change quickly and we cannot be held responsible for any weather changes once at sea.


I want to go for a longer trip or somewhere else ?


No worries just drop us an email and we can provide options. info@oystercoastwatersports.co.uk


Can I bring my dog or pet ?


No, please do not bring any pets.


Is there somewhere safe I can leave my belongings ?


Sorry but we do not have any secure facilities for personal belongings.


Will I get soaked ?


Hopefully not, occasionally you will get splashed, we do our best for this not to happen but it can and does. We give everyone the option to wear a water proof poncho if they want, and of course you have to wear a lifejacket for your own safety.


Does the boat have safety equipment onboard ?


Yes the boat is a commercial craft and has the necessary safety equipment onboard. We are insured and the skipper is commercially qualified.


Is there a minimum number of people on a trip ?


Bookings for trips to the forts or wind farm require 3 or more people or £120. You will be asked for a PayPal deposit to confirm the booking.


Is alcohol allowed on the boat ?


Sorry there is no alcohol allowed on board. If the skipper believes you are intoxicated you will be refused to board and you will not be entitled to a refund.


What clothes should I wear ?


Warm layers are good, no heels they will have to be left on the dockside.

We will provide buoyancy aids and your be offered a water proof poncho just in case it gets a little choppy.


Can I bring a camera?

You can of course if you want, but the boat can get very wet with waves splashing us, so please make sure your electronics are protected from the salt water, as we can not be held responsible for any damage to your camera equipment or phones. 

Buoyancy aid & Poncho

We will provide buoyancy aids and your be offered a water proof poncho just in case it gets a little choppy.

Reviews
A fantastic trip and a great experience for me as it was my first time on the sea. It was exciting to see the Forts and the Windfarm closely. Many thanks to the lovely skipper. I hope I'll have the opportunity to go again. Thanks again.
Izabella (05/08/2019)
StarStarStarStarStar
Had a fantastic trip around the forts and windfarm on our getaway to Whitstable last week. Very interesting and informative and my 14 year old son loved it. Would certainly recommend!
Anna (22/04/2019)
StarStarStarStarStar
Thoroughly enjoyed a trip to the maunsell forts and wind farm on Sunday (a birthday present)Thanks to our skipper Paul for a great experience and a very professional and friendly service.Highly recommended.
Paul smith (30/09/2018)
StarStarStarStarStar
A brilliant trip to the forts and windfarm for my dads birthday we really enjoyed it and can’t fault a thing! We want to go again!! Keep up the good work guys!
Hannah (24/05/2018)
StarStarStarStarStar
Glad you had a great trip, please come and visit us again soon, thanks Mark

SUBMIT A REVIEW

 *  *  *  *  *
QUESTIONS

Be the first to ask a question.

ASK A QUESTION

Boat Trip from Whitstable to Maunsell Forts £40

Piloted boat trips to Whitstable Kent

£40.00
Saturday 21st March 2020
11:00am
7 Places Available
Sunday 22nd March 2020
12:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 28th March 2020
3:00pm
3 Places Available
Sunday 29th March 2020
4:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 4th April 2020
10:00am
7 Places Available
Saturday 11th April 2020
2:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 12th April 2020
3:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 18th April 2020
10:00am
7 Places Available
Sunday 19th April 2020
11:00am
7 Places Available
Saturday 25th April 2020
2:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 26th April 2020
3:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 2nd May 2020
10:00am
7 Places Available
Sunday 3rd May 2020
10:00am
7 Places Available
Saturday 9th May 2020
3:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 10th May 2020
3:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 16th May 2020
10:00am
7 Places Available
Sunday 17th May 2020
11:00am
7 Places Available
Saturday 23rd May 2020
2:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 24th May 2020
2:00pm
6 Places Available
Saturday 30th May 2020
4:00pm
5 Places Available
Sunday 31st May 2020
9:30am
7 Places Available
Saturday 6th June 2020
2:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 7th June 2020
2:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 13th June 2020
4:30pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 14th June 2020
9:30am
7 Places Available
Saturday 20th June 2020
1:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 21st June 2020
2:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 27th June 2020
4:30pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 28th June 2020
5:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 11th July 2020
3:30pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 12th July 2020
4:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 18th July 2020
12:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 19th July 2020
1:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 25th July 2020
3:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 26th July 2020
3:30pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 1st August 2020
12:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 2nd August 2020
12:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 8th August 2020
3:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 9th August 2020
4:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 15th August 2020
10:30am
7 Places Available
Sunday 16th August 2020
11:30am
7 Places Available
Sunday 23rd August 2020
3:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 29th August 2020
11:00am
7 Places Available
Sunday 30th August 2020
12:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 5th September 2020
2:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 6th September 2020
3:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 12th September 2020
9:15am
7 Places Available
Sunday 13th September 2020
10:00am
7 Places Available
Saturday 19th September 2020
1:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 20th September 2020
2:00pm
7 Places Available
Saturday 26th September 2020
9:30am
7 Places Available
Sunday 27th September 2020
10:00am
7 Places Available
Saturday 3rd October 2020
2:00pm
7 Places Available
Sunday 4th October 2020
3:00pm
7 Places Available
 In Stock